Equipment

Jetboil Micro Mo Review

Saturday 24 March 2018, 10:48pm -- daniel.joll

Jetboil in use on Lobouche East regular route high camp.jpg

Kim melting snow with the Jetboil Micro Mo, on Lobouche East regular route, high camp, 5800m

Creator: 
Daniel Joll

I have been using Jet Boil stoves for over 12 years.  During this time, I have used most of the common models starting with the Zip, Flash, Mino Mo, Joule, Sol Ti and most recently the Micro Mo.  As a member of the New Zealand Alpine Team I am lucky enough to get the latest models as part of our sponsorship agreement with Jet Boil.  Jet Boil is the stove I have chosen to use long before we had any form of sponsorship from Jet Boil and it would still be my first choice of stove if I had to go and buy a new one in the future. 

Salewa Approach Shoes Review

Monday 12 March 2018, 8:48am -- alastair.mcdowell

Peru (10).JPG

Relaxing halfway up La Esfinge alpine rock wall in Peru with the Salewa Mountain Trainers

Creator: 
A. McDowell

Salewa produce a wide range of mountain footwear, and one of their specialities is approach shoe footwear. Over the past year, Gemma, Alastair and David have each been trialling a different approach shoe in Salewa's range, each excelling at a different level of ruggedness in the alpine continuum. Gemma has been using the Salewa Mountainer Trainer for big walling in Yosemite, Alastair has been using the Salewa Firetail Evo for long approaches around Mount Cook and Patagonia, and David has been using the Salewa for trail running and less rugged approaches in the Arthurs Pass area.

Salewa Firetail Evo Approach Shoe

Friday 24 March 2017, 12:05pm -- steven.fortune

firetail-evo-moon-red.png

Salewa Firetail Evo

Salewa Firetail Evo

There are many alpine rock routes including technical rock climbing, that you want to change into rock shoes for, that you need to carry the shoes you approach in. This is the category this shoe works brilliantly in, that I call approach shoes. Low weight is key here, you don't want to lug your old heavy leather tramping boots up a hard pitch, but they also need to be robust enough to handle a scrambling approach or scree descent that might rip a pair of light fabric trainers to shreds. The Firetail is my favourite shoe in this category. They were light enough to carry up a hard pitch of a new route at Cloudy Peak, robust enough to handle the long scree descent.

Tendon Master 7.8mm Half Rope Review

Thursday 7 January 2016, 2:20am -- daniel.joll

10930892_764400263646615_2675341789835720748_n.jpg

Daniel Joll heading up a rarely formed Happy Days WI6+ X. Good technique and a steady head is essential as you move onto more demanding ice climbs.

Creator: 
Jaz Morris

For almost three years now I have been climbing with the Tendon Master range of ropes. During this time I have used almost every style from half ropes, light weight single ropes and thick single ropes for big wall climbing. For this review I am going to focus on the 7.8mm Master Half Ropes. These are my favourite ropes for ice and winter alpine climbing. When its time for summer alpine and rock routes I usually move to a pair of 8.5mm Master Half Ropes.

Salewa Raven Combi Goretex mountaineering boots

Saturday 20 June 2015, 2:30pm -- Reg Measures

P1010696.JPG

Making good use of the Salewa Raven Combi's ankle flexibility while approaching Brewster

Creator: 
Claire Measures

A stiff pair of technical boots is amazing for slashing steps over short sections of snow without needing crampons, confidently edging on rock, or using with technical crampons. Stiff boots are often heavy and cumbersome though. I was looking some light stiff boots for summer climbing when I came across the Salewa Raven Combi.

Petzl Laser Speed Light Ice Screws Review

Monday 26 January 2015, 11:49am -- daniel.joll

10714327_762187210534587_7903766512086634300_o.jpg

Daniel Joll leading the classic Pilsner Pillar WI6

Creator: 
Jaz Morris

Aluminum and light weight ice screws have been around for many years in various forms. Early Jeff Lowe models that were in short supply or Russian titanium ones that had a tendency to bend or break saw most climbers steer clear of the light weight screw options.

Alpine Series Pursuit Review - Simplicity at its finest

Friday 12 September 2014, 4:02pm -- daniel.joll

First Pitch Torre Egger Attempt.jpg

Daniel Joll leading on the East Face of Torre Egger during the teams first day of climbing for the trip. This attempt was cut short mid morning due to falling ice and warm temperatures. This also was our first time testing the new Alpine Series Pursuit packs.

Creator: 
Steve Fortune

Over the past 18 months the New Zealand Alpine Team along with Macpac have been developing the ultimate alpine climbing pack.  Light, robust and full of features specifically aimed at those who like to hike, climb or travel light and fast in an alpine environment.  The pack comes in two sizes and two material options.  Its been great to hear the feed back from other climbers around the world when they have seen the new packs.  While loading the new Alpine Series Pursuit onto our glacie

Macpac Hemisphere Tent

Tuesday 9 September 2014, 10:40am -- Pete Harris

14k Camp tents 2.JPG

14000 ft Camp

Creator: 
Daniel Joll

I dislike living in tents as a rule. Whenever I do trips, I’ll avoid taking a tent at all costs if I can stay in a hut. The condensation, the lack of space, the extra organisation required to make the most of the minimal space, not to mention the weight all deter me from tenting; especially if there’s a hut nearby. Therefore prior to Alaska, the two things I was dreading the most was melting water for every drink or meal, and living in a tent for over a month.

Fast and Light – reflections on featherweight Carabiners, you can actually use.

Thursday 12 September 2013, 12:17pm -- Peter Ramage

I always try to be light in the mountains, not least because I hate carrying a heavy pack, and I’m always keen to shave off a few grams. One really good way I’ve found to do this is to make sure you’re making use of the advances in Carabiner design, and that the ‘biners you chose are the best for your situation. I’ve been nerding out over the lightest ‘biners and draws since I started climbing, and thought I’d share my thoughts about some of the designs out there. It’s very possible to shave as much as half a kilo from your rack, even before you start slimming it down, just by making sure you chose the very best ‘biners for the job

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Equipment